The Mendeleyev Journal - Live From Moscow

A few years back I remember several female neighbors warning me to be careful of the black men who lived on the 6th floor of my Moscow apartment. I lived a couple floors lower and wasn’t really sure why we were supposed to be careful as they hadn’t bothered to explain that part. I did wonder who it could be as in my view, Russia was very white for the most part and I had seen only a very few truly black folk in Moscow. Eventually I figured out that they were referring to a household of Chechen guys who lived upstairs. It was a stretch in my mind to figure them as “black” because back home in Southern California and Arizona I’d have recognized more of a light brown skin tone, closer to Hispanics in the American southwest.

Of course Russia and the FSU is racist and we’re not…

View original post 765 more words

Leave a Reply

